Balancing the Chakras for Total Wellness

0 PRESENTED BY Simpson & Vail

In Eastern traditions, chakras are identified as vital energy centers within the body, working together to govern every aspect of physical and psychological health and wellness. Although there are literally thousands of chakras in the body, the seven main energy centers are located along the central line of the body- the spine. Each ties to a specific element of the earth or sensory experience: earth, air, fire, water, sound, sight & awareness.When they’re open, the chakras are considered operative: we’re feeling balanced, happy and energetic; when they’re blocked, we experience negative physical and emotional stress.

Here’s a quick summary of the seven chakras and steps you can take to start feeling great right now:

1st - Root chakraThe first chakra, located at the base of the spine, otherwise known as the Root Chakra, is governed by the element earth. Its true name is Muladhara, meaning ‘root support’. This chakra is responsible for our stability and grounded nature. It is what keeps us connected to the physical world. It is also controlled by our belief system, and what we’ve learned over our lifetime. If this chakra is unbalanced, we may experience lower back or joint pain, as well as digestive disorders, a weakened immune system, and either obesity or anorexia.
Download our free Wellness & Tea 101 E-Book

A few yoga poses to try for this chakra are Warrior, Bridge, Tree or Mountain Pose. Drinking tea before, during or after yoga is just as beneficial as the yoga itself. For this chakra, try an earthy herbal blend that will help connect you to the ground.

2nd - Sacral ChakraThe second chakra, located in the abdomen above the stomach, is the Sacral Chakra. It is also known as Svadhisthana, or ‘one’s own place’. This chakra controls our sexuality and pleasure, money, creativity and relationships. Its governing element is water, and it is responsible for the ebb and flow of our energy interaction with polar opposites. This chakra, when unbalanced, could cause bladder or uterine issues, sciatica, large intestine problems, and sexual dysfunction.

Yoga poses for this chakra include Pigeon, Cobra, Sphinx, Eagle, and Half Locust. A light herbal tea with a slight spice, as well as notes of citrus and mint, would be perfect for this energy.

3rd - Solar Plexus ChakraThe third chakra, or Solar Plexus Chakra, also known as Manipura, means ‘lustrous gem’. This energy is our self-esteem center. It controls our personal feeling of power, as well as our emotions. Fire is this chakra’s element, and its desire is to burn brightly, giving us the power and warmth of self-confidence. Stomach issues, low energy and nervousness are among the ailments associated with this chakra when unbalanced.

Sun Salutation, Warrior, Bow & Boat poses help to brighten the flame within, and increase the energy. A very complex, earthy tea works well with this one.

4th - Heart ChakraThe fourth chakra is the Heart Chakra, or Anahata, meaning ‘unstruck’ or ‘unhurt’. This is the chakra of love, ruled by the element of air. To love others, we must first learn to love ourselves. The feeling of despair can be associated with an unbalanced heart chakra. Difficulties breathing, circulation issues, and shoulder tension are also caused by this.

Yoga poses for this chakra include Camel, Cobra, Fish & Upward-Facing Dog. Your tea should be light and floral, with fruity notes as well. Rose inspires love, and is the perfect addition to any tea for this chakra.

5th - Throat ChakraThe fifth chakra, or Throat Chakra, rules willpower and choice. It is also known as Visuddha, meaning ‘purification’, and is governed by the sense of hearing, or sound. The throat chakra is important, because this is where we can vocalize what we desire from the universe. When this chakra is blocked, the sound cannot resonate, and our voice becomes feeble, barely noticeable. An unbalanced throat chakra can cause esophageal problems, affecting the ears, throat, vocal cords and even the spine.

Try the Fish, Camel, Bridge & Plow poses to unblock this energy. For tea, anything fruity with hot spicy undertones to warm the throat is ideal.

6th - Third Eye ChakraThe sixth chakra is the Third Eye Chakra. Known as Ajna, meaning ‘to perceive and to command’, the third eye chakra is responsible for our intuition, imagination & wisdom. This is a chakra of light, vision and insight. Opening up the third eye allows all energy to flow closer to the enlightened state. When this chakra is ailing, we worry, our imagination suffers and we have difficulty concentrating on what’s around us.

Plow, Child’s Pose, Easy Pose, & Headstand are all poses in yoga that may help heal the third eye chakra. Your tea should be light and floral, with pronounced notes of lavender and rosemary.

7th - Crown ChakraThe seventh, and final chakra, is the Crown Chakra. This chakra, called Sahasrara, meaning ‘Infinite Awareness’, is the final chakra before reaching pure enlightenment. It is located at the top of the head, resonates in the form of a 1000-petal lotus flower, and is where we connect directly to the supreme energy of the universe. When this chakra is blocked, we may feel confused, depressed, or fearful of being unsuccessful. We may experience headaches, amnesia, and mental or skin disorders.

The best poses to help clear this chakra are the Warrior III, Eagle, Tree or Mountain. An herbal tea with a perfect balance of floral, sweet and spicy notes is recommended.

When all seven chakras are in perfect balance and harmony, everything we dream of will manifest. We create our own destinies, but any blockage in our energy could bring negative aspects into our lives, instead of positive. So clear those energy fields, balance those chakras, drink your teas, and live the life you’ve always dreamed.

Chakra MapPlease enjoy this downloadable infographic on the location of each chakra, as well as the recommended yoga poses and teas mentioned. Clicking on the image will open a PDF in a separate window.

Lotus FlowerDid you know?

The lotus flower in Buddhism means purity, or spiritual awakening.

“Balancing the Chakras for Wellness”

was presented by Simpson & Vail

Simpson & Vail logo


About Author

Simpson & Vail, Inc. is an old time tea company and was originally founded as a green coffee merchant in 1904 by Augustus M. Walbridge on Water Street in New York City as Augustus M. Walbridge, Inc. In 1929, Mr. Walbridge sold the business to Mr. Simpson, the accountant, and Mr.Lester Vail, the tea taster. Hence, a great business was born.

Comments are closed.